Last Thursday my customer Rodgers came back for the 2014 Mazda CX 5, service loaner demo which we sold as pre-owned vehicle. I managed to switch to the color they wanted silver on a service loaner.

At the sales tower when Santos asked me questions while he was penciling the payments. I told him that they expected special rates from Mazda since he was initially came in on a new 2014 Mazda CX 5 at 0.9% for 60 months and 1.9%. Edgard, our finance manager said that we do not have special rates on pre-owned vehicles and I was not supposed to tell them that we had it. I did not say anything about the rates to the customers. So Aaron took the initiative to explain it to my customers and they seemed to be okay. And they went to finance office and signed the rate at 1.79% with Capital One which is lower than the special rates from Mazda.

If I had told my customers that we did not have the incentivized rates, I would have lost that deal to other dealers.

